Parisa Sabet

Iranian-Canadian composer, Parisa Sabet, creates a sonic world that is rich, layered, lyrical, and accessible to listeners. She draws from both the drama and the commonplace in her personal experiences to integrate unique elements of Eastern and Western musical languages, incorporating varied timbral and instrumental effects. Currently, she is pursuing her DMA in composition at the University of Toronto under the supervision of Christos Hatzis.
Parisa is a recipient of several grants. Professionally, her compositions have won various competitions and have been performed in different venues in North America and Europe.

List of Works

The Seville Orange Tree for flute and piano (2016)
When the Roses Laugh in Full-blown Beauty for harp and marimba (2015)
Shur Angiz for flute (piccolo), clarinet, cello, violin and piano (2014)
Beyond Borders for solo violin (2014)
Geyrani for solo violin (2012)
Arghavan for two pianos (2012)
Chakameh for four-hand piano (2011)

Those Still Dancing piccolo, 3 percussion, piano, harp, and strings (minimum 65442) (2014)
Beauty, Love and Justice for full Orchestra (2017)

Dance in Your Bloo for soprano, piano (2014) 10’00” (based on Rumi’s quote)
A Cup of Si for guitar electric, viola, piano, clarinet, voice (2017) 15’00” (based on Simin Behbahani’s poem)
Please note that there is an arrangement for electric guitar quartet and mezzo-soprano as well

Fly Toward a Secret Sky for flute and audio playback (2014)